Is there a better way to send tweaks to elixir source to RPi than burning firmware?

I’m new to both Elixir and RPi, so forgive me if I am missing something totally obvious.

After burning the firmware on the SD card, say I want to simply tweak one source file. Is there a simple way to do it? I don’t want to re-burn the SD card … that’s so 1980’s!

How does one do dynamic deployment at dev time?

1 Like

The simplest is to ssh into the device and copy-paste. You can also use sftp to upload the file then use Code.compile on the uploaded file. Both of those only work with elixir code, not nif’s.

Welcome to the forum :wave:!

Assuming you created your project with nerves.new then nerves_ssh should be enabled by default: GitHub - nerves-project/nerves_ssh: Nerves SSH support

The gist of it is to run mix firmware, then mix firmware.push (possibly providing the nerve’s device ip address). So that will upload the new firmware to the device and then it will automatically restart. If want to revert to the previous firmware you can ssh to the device and run Nerves.Runtime.revert.

3 Likes

Thanks, I’ll try this.

Maybe it is my mental model of “firmware”. I assume firmware to be the low level operating system stuff that needs the system to reboot. I don’t think of any elixir code as firmware. I imagined something like using a local vi to edit an elixiir file and compile it. I wasn’t thinking of burning the firmware again and pushing it to SD or via HTTP; is that an incremental process with rapid turnaround?

You’ll probably use both methods.

Nerves builds a “firmware” in that it contains everything to run the RPi, including the Linux kernel and your elixir code. Assuming you’re using Nerves for this. That firmware image is readonly.