Is there a way to prevent socket from being closed onbeforeload with phoenix channels?

Hi I’m new to phoenix so I might be missing something obvious.

I have a channel with a potentially long running process linked to it. If the process is running and the users try to reload the page, I would like to give them a chance to bail and stay on the page without killing the process.

However, when the socket is closed, I need to kill the process.

Unfortunately, in the Socket class an eventlistener that closes the connection is added to the “beforeunload” event, rather than the “unload” event. So the connection is closed (and the process killed) before the users get decide whether to wait a bit longer.

Is there a way to prevent this behavior and is there a specific reason the eventlistener is added to “beforeunload” rather than “unload” ?
Will I break my app if I change this in the phoenix.js file?

Thanks in advance for any help/tip.

the reason is handling “backgrounded” tabs and fast recovery from backgrounded/stalled state… https://github.com/phoenixframework/phoenix/pull/3327/commits/1c9589f6bf0eef215b1a5d8cd06345740f298bd7

not sure if changing it to the unload event does the same… and if you override the beforeunload you might see issues with “backgrounded” tabs…

I don’t believe unload is fired in some versions of safari/mobile safari. We need to fire this because of the back/forward cache in browsers restores the page and js state. So phoenix.js will at any time find itself in a disconnected state because of this, which the onbeforeunload disconnect + aggressive reconnect allows us to handle. Note that Safari and others don’t fire the pageshow event, so this approach is necessary.