Is there a way to reject a message during processing a request

Hello,

I’m new to Elixir development and I can’t find a way to do what I want.

I’ve a GenServer service which execute multiple HTTP calls in a row and then wait for the next message to process.

On the other side, I’ve an API server that exposes this service.

I’d like to reject instantaneously new messages that are received saying that something is already in progress.
But, every messages are stored in the mailbox, waiting for the next availability.

Is there a way to limit the mailbox size?

Thank you

Hello and welcome,

Don’t do this at the level of the mailbox, do it in a queue, or in a manager gen_server…

Also some options are available to manage limited resources, like poolboy.

1 Like

Thank you for your help!

So, I need to manage the “in-progress” state in another GenServer?
But in this case, I cannot mix sync and async messages?

API → GateManager → Gate

API wants an immediate response: “OK” or “KO already in-progress”

GateManager could manage the state, but will have to send a sync message to Gate to wait for the response and update the state. During this time, all new messages received are stored in the mailbox and will be processed after the first one.

In the end, as all the messages are synchronous, an HTTP timeout could occur, and another request during the first, will queue a new message in the mailbox, that will be processed right after.

You can monitor the queue depth with process_info and do different things in different conditions. I think this is what the Logger backend do:

• when queue is shallow, do async processing, not to hold up the clients
  • when queue is deeper than a threshold, do sync processing to slow down the clients
  • when queue is even deeper, just drop messages
1 Like