ISO unpaid remote Elixir / Erlang internship opportunity

Hey guys,
I’m well into a career track that I don’t find personally fulfilling. It is computer programming adjacent and I’ve wanted to make the jump for years but have been a little gun shy.
I’ve been doing self-study with Elixir since 2018. I have worked through a lot of books and online courses. I believe that I’m proficient in both programming and theory, but can’t really know that until I have a chance to work on a project in production.

I’m also comfortable with with JS and Python.

I’ve recently started out on my own as a consultant and have been really fortunate to be able to pay all the bills working about 20 hours a week.
I’d love to be matched with a company as an intern and I don’t need to get paid.

2 Likes

Hi, in that case why not consider contributing to a FOSS project?

4 Likes

I definitely want to do that as well. Is being active in github enough to show people that I’m good enough to hire at some point?

1 Like

I haven’t job hunted in a while, so others may know better, but IMO having code and PRs to show is more helpful than a couple lines on a CV.

2 Likes

Yeah that sounds right. I’m just going to run credo on Phoenix and see what I can improve. :smile:

You could go to the Elixir Jobs category and ping some of the companies?

1 Like

I don’t think you need to settle for an unpaid internship. Especially if you have your own consulting work and/or contributing to open source.

Ignore me if you already tried and it didn’t work. Just want to say I don’t think you should settle for unpaid unless you absolutely have no other choice.

2 Likes

In my opinion, picking a library and trying to solve one of the issues in their issue tracker would be more helpful than running credo. It will force you to dive into an unfamiliar codebase and figure out how things work. This is an indispensable skill.

6 Likes

What country do you live in? What languages can you read & write?