Issue when running tests: (Mix.Error) The database for Copi.Repo couldn't be created: killed

Hello,

I’m new to Elixir development. I’ve started to contribute to a website written with the Phoenix framework.

When I run the command mix test, most of the tests are failing. I suspect it’s because my test environment is not set up properly. Indeed, when I run an individual test I’ve got the following error message:

Mix task exited with reason
an exception was raised:
    ** (Mix.Error) The database for Copi.Repo couldn't be created: killed
        (mix 1.16.0) lib/mix.ex:580: Mix.raise/2
        (elixir 1.16.0) lib/enum.ex:987: Enum."-each/2-lists^foreach/1-0-"/2
        (mix 1.16.0) lib/mix/task.ex:478: anonymous fn/3 in Mix.Task.run_task/5
        (mix 1.16.0) lib/mix/task.ex:544: Mix.Task.run_alias/6
        (debug_adapter 0.20.0) lib/debug_adapter/server.ex:1969: ElixirLS.DebugAdapter.Server.launch_task/1
returning code 1
11:15:00.361 [error] Process #PID<0.491.0> raised an exception
** (Mix.Error) The database for Copi.Repo couldn't be created: killed
    (mix 1.16.0) lib/mix.ex:580: Mix.raise/2
    (elixir 1.16.0) lib/enum.ex:987: Enum."-each/2-lists^foreach/1-0-"/2
    (mix 1.16.0) lib/mix/task.ex:478: anonymous fn/3 in Mix.Task.run_task/5
    (mix 1.16.0) lib/mix/task.ex:544: Mix.Task.run_alias/6
    (debug_adapter 0.20.0) lib/debug_adapter/server.ex:1969: ElixirLS.DebugAdapter.Server.launch_task/1

The dev environment is working fine. I can launch the website and add data to the database.

Do I miss something to set up the test environment?

Thank you for you help. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Seems like that the tests cannot reach the database. Is it running? The connection url for test env is correct?

If it works in dev mode you can try run the application in test env:

MIX_ENV=test iex -S mix

Doing so could help in finding the problem.

1 Like