Iterating over a list with a certain condition (sorry, I am very new to functional programming)

Hello everyone,

I am new to elixir and had questions regarding iterating over a list using Enum.each(). I want to iterate over a list and append items that satisfy a certain condition to another list.

I provided the code below and commented using pseudocode on what I mean by this.

def test do
        list = [1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9]
        p1 = []
        p2 = []
        p3 = []
        Enum.each(list, fn(i) -> 
        #if (i) is at index 0 or 2 add (i) to [p1]
        #if (i) is at index 1 or 3 add (i) to [p2]
        #else add (i) to [p3]
        end)
    end

Is this possible to do using Enum.each() or is there another preferred way of doing such a problem?

Variables in Elixir are immutable, so you won’t be able to modify a list from Enum.each/2 like you would in an imperative programming language like C or Java.

What you’re looking for can be achieved with Enum.reduce/3 instead.

I recommend you go through the guides at Elixir School to get a little more familiar with Elixir and functional programming in general before you continue:

They also have a segment specifically for the Enum module:

2 Likes

Hello and welcome,

result = list
|> Enum.with_index()
|> Enum.reduce({[], [], []}, fn {el, i}, {p1, p2, p3} ->
  cond do
    i == 0 || i == 2 -> {[el | p1], p2, p3}
    i == 1 || i == 3 -> {p1, [el | p2], p3}
    true -> {p1, p2, [el | p3]}
  end
end)

IO.inspect result
{[3, 1], [4, 2], [9, 8, 7, 6, 5]}

You even can remove the ugly cond with

list
|> Enum.with_index()
|> Enum.reduce({[], [], []}, fn
  {el, i}, {p1, p2, p3} when i == 0 or i == 2 ->
    {[el | p1], p2, p3}
  {el, i}, {p1, p2, p3} when i == 1 or i == 3 ->
    {p1, [el | p2], p3}
  {el, _}, {p1, p2, p3} ->
    {p1, p2, [el | p3]}
end)

As mentionned, You need to think differently :slight_smile:

Mainly because of immutability, but also scope.

You might need to reverse list if needed.

1 Like

thanks!!