JSON Library Benchmarks

Hi Everyone!

First time writer, long time reader here.

I’ve been using Elixir for the past two years or so, and I’ve noticed that every single JSON library has it’s own benchmarks, that all say that they are the best. I wanted to know which one was the fastest currently, so I decided to build my own benchmarks. I’d love inputs from everyone to see what people think!

To see the benchmarks, you can look here, under the outputs folder: Elixir Random Benchmarks

That repo also contains various benchmarks of Elixir core that I’ve used to find the fastest versions of different functionalities in the core Elixir language.

7 Likes

As far as I’m aware, using Jason is the conventional wisdom in the Elixir circles for a while now.

In most benchmarks Jiffy tends to be the fastest of the well known libraries. Jason is slower but has more use throughout the community and its pure elixir. We use a combination of jiffy and jason at work and benchmark against our specific payloads.

2 Likes

That’s what I ended up seeing in the benchmarks.

One of my side projects right now is building a web server that can get faster performance than cowboy (I know, it’s a pipe dream). Part of that was choosing the fastest JSON parser, and when I went exploring the popular libraries, I saw that in every benchmark there were wildly different results, each favoring whichever library I was looking at, so I made my own little benchmark to see which was the fastest.

I know that Jason is the current standard, I use it when I use Plug or Phoenix, it’s one of my favorite libraries.

This was just a quick side project of mine to get a more definitive benchmark, since every library typically advertises the benchmarks that show their library to be the best, and I wanted to know which one was without any bias.

I’m curious - why is Jason the standard choice when jiffy has been around for ages (i.e. it’s stable and well-tested) and is much faster?