Junior Dev, remote work, looking for job-seeking advice

Paul Bickford

US citizen, Brookfield, Connecticut, prefer remote work.

Full-stack Software Engineer

I am eager to pursue any position, preferably leading to full-stack work.

Although I don’t have much work experience as a developer, I actually have been programming for many, many years, as a hobbyist and to support my past professional work. Broadly, but informally, educated in computer science and programming, I am constantly learning and updating my skills. I am also an avid fan of Elixir, OTP, Phoenix, and LiveView.

Languages

Professional experience

• JavaScript, ReactNative, Python, Flask, Pytest, Marshmallow, MongoDB, HTML, CSS, Docker, & Git.

Personal experience

• Elixir, OTP, Phoenix, LiveView, Tailwind, SQL, React, Linux, Docker, Haskell, Ruby, Java, Visual Basic, C++, C, FORTRAN, & BASIC.

Experience

Software related experience

Contract Software Engineer, Nomad Health, New York, NY, Jan 2019 to Dec 2019

• Developed a mobile React Native app from conception to production for healthcare start-up, ‎Nomad: Travel Nurse Jobs on the App Store.

• Worked on agile scrum team with engineers, product managers, and designers.

• Developed requirements and user stories with product managers and designers.

• Wrote API endpoints in Python/Flask app.

• Worked with JavaScript, React Native, Python, Flask, Marshmallow, MongoDB, Pytest, and Docker.

• Delivered core feature user experiences.

Co-Founder, 2b1, inc., San Francisco, CA, Jan 1996 to Jan 2001

• Managed all aspects of business, as well as general and technical staff for IT consulting firm.

• Analyzed needs and proposed technical solutions for customers.

• Designed and installed TCP/IP, Microsoft, and Apple networks: software, hardware, and wiring.

• Taught courses on software packages and network management.

• Installed and ported databases.

• Prepared client estimates, oversaw billing and receivables collection.