Library to generate Api Docs in elixir

I am basically from symfony background, i am new to elixir. In symfony there is ApiDocBundle which allows me to generate a decent documentation for my APIs. Likewise is there any method in Phoenix Elixir ??

1 Like
1 Like

Iā€™m not sure if that is what @nishanthg92 wants.

The example he mentions does generate documentation about a serverside API. So I think this is much more related to phoenix than elixir. If @nishanthg92 does confirm, Iā€™ll move the post to the phoenix section.

Yes pleaseā€¦

apiDoc supports Elixir comment syntax:

@apidoc """
@api {get} /user/:id Request User information
@apiName GetUser
@apiGroup User

@apiParam {Number} id Users unique ID.

@apiSuccess {String} firstname Firstname of the User.
@apiSuccess {String} lastname  Lastname of the User.
"""
def get_user(conn, %{"id" => id} = params) do
  # do something here
end

But you need Node.js to generate it:

$ npm install apidoc -g
$ apidoc -i lib/ -o doc/
4 Likes

Thank you! This comes in handy for a go-project of mine which I have to implement for the university. Cool that there is something available which is pretty agnostic to the host language!

@bobbypriambodo Just wanted to say thank you for the link to apiDoc. I was just looking for something like this the other day as a REST API is usually not suited well for standard ExDoc documentation because itā€™s something you access from an external source, not Elixir itself. apiDoc looks like exactly what I need, inline documentation is really easy to read and keep maintained.

Would be pretty awesome to see an extension of mix phx.routes that produces such documentation; phoenix can introspect to your routes, so having a way to markup the routing so it could produce this as well, preventing the need to discover other tooling, would be quite nifty.