Liveview form validation with user and profile changesets

I’m trying to create a registration form with the username, email and password fields. Email and password fields are part of the User schema, the username is part of the Profile schema. User has “has_one” on Profile and Profile has “belongs_to” on User (I wanted a one-to-one association).

The liveview form accepts a single changeset to do the validation, I think. Currently I’m using the User changeset (from phx.gen.auth). I’m trying to add the username in the mix so that on user creation I save the user first and then the associated profile with the username.

Is there a standard way to do validation on a combination of changeset? I’m new to ecto and just now I found out about cast_assoc but i’m not sure how to use it. Initially I tried to create a schemaless changeset that contains just [:username, :email, :password] and use that in the form but I was just duplicating code from User and Profile all over the place. I found out about embedded schemas and tried to create a schema that embeds both user and profile but had some problems… well at least I’m discovering ecto features by applying them incorrectly :sweat_smile:

I’d suggest taking a look at inputs_for/1 which “renders nested form inputs for associations or embeds” and works really well with cast_assoc/3.

source: Phoenix.Component.inputs_for/1 docs

5 Likes

@codeanpeace wow thank you so much. That approach was pretty clean together with cast_assoc/3.

1 Like

Hello. @giusdp I’ve been trying to perform exactly the same task through trying and error :smile:

I’ve came across the inputs_for to render nested form inputs, but I couldn’t connecting the dots yet.

Were you able to implement the form?

Hey @dhony, if you’ve used phx.gen.auth then you should already have the user schema and context. The way I solved was by adding cast_assoc/3 to the registration_changeset:

def registration_changeset(user, attrs, opts \\ []) do
    user