LiveView 'live' macro and accessing assigns

There have been a number of questions on this forum and on SO regarding accessing Conn.assigns in LiveViews that are mounted via the router’s live macro. Here’s a typical one..

Over in this similar question, @chrismccord clearly states

No assigns are shared from the conn to the LiveView mount

My question is why?

Is this a technical issue or a design choice? I’m new to Elixir/Phoenix, so if it’s a technical issue, I would love to hear it. But if it’s a design choice, may I would humbly suggest that it be reconsidered? I ask that because many applications and libraries have fully adopted the notion stated in the Programming Phoenix book that “Your web applications are pipelines of plugs,” and accordingly alter Conn.assigns to communicate up and down the stack. The typical example being current_user. Not having access to these settings is a little clumsy and non-intuitive.

I appreciate that we may not want to wholesale copy Conn.assigns to Socket.assigns (though I don’t know why), but can we have functionality similar to what we have for sessions? That is, something like this:

live "/resource/:resoure_id", ResourceLive, assigns: [:current_user]

Please know that I’m not being critical. I’m loving Phoenix and LiveView, I’m just hoping to understand better and maybe help with a suggestion.

Thanks,
Pete

Liveviews are mounted multiple times and only the first time is in the context of your current request. All other times are after the website is rendered and the liveview javascript starts the channels connection for updates. At that time the initial request is fully handled and therefore the assigns are long gone. Only data you put into the liveview session (which gets encoded into the actual html) will be available.