Local dependency path and docker

I am totally new to the concept of Docker so I’m sure this is a dumb question.
My app currently is structured as

app_root
|_lib
|_app2
|_app3

In app_root/mix.exs I have the dependency {:app2, path: "./app2"} and in app_root/app2/mix.exs I have the dependency {:app3, path: "../app3"}. This all works happily locally and builds with mix release but when I try to deploy with Docker it complains

Cannot compile dependency :app2 because it isn’t available, please ensure the dependency is at “app2”.

What should the path be in the mix.exs for local dependencies to be found by Docker?

As best I can determine the issue is that the relative path to app2 is being determined relative to the path of the docker executable. I’ve tried changing the path in app_root/mix.exs to "#{\_\_DIR\_\_}/app2" but this does not change the result.

Partial solution so far. Had to edit the Dockerfile to COPY the directories but it’s still not right. For instance, app3 has a file in an assets directory that is not found, leading the whole app to crash on deployment.

There are quite a few Dockerfile examples in the blog sphere, I’d recommend you to find a few and compare with what you’re doing.

Dockerizing a project the first time certainly can get little annoying but it ain’t no rocket science either.

You’re already on the right path: you have to COPY all relevant files inside the container. Then there’s mix deps.get et. al. afterwards.

So here’s my Dockerfile:

# prepare build dir
WORKDIR /app

# install hex + rebar
RUN mix local.hex --force && \
    mix local.rebar --force

# set build ENV
ENV MIX_ENV="prod"

# install mix dependencies
COPY ./app1/mix.exs ./app1/mix.lock ./
RUN mix deps.get --only $MIX_ENV
RUN mkdir config

# copy compile-time config files before we compile dependencies
# to ensure any relevant config change will trigger the dependencies
# to be re-compiled.
COPY ./app1/config/config.exs ./app1/config/${MIX_ENV}.exs config/