Local queuing before invoking external URLs

Hello. I’m seeking advice on the following scenario. I have a Phoenix app that needs to invoke an external URL to put a message on an external event bus every time a significant event happens (e.g., user-created). To ensure that I don’t lose messages in case the external system is down, I would like to implement a simple local queue mechanism with durable messages or something similar in Elixir to decouple my app from the external system. Additionally, I want to avoid deploying an external system like RabbitMQ and keep it simple by running it as another process inside my Elixir app.

I have explored these options:

1. Implementing the queue mechanism myself using GenStage.
  2. Using the Stagger library, which seems to provide exactly what I need.
  3. Developing a PostgreSQL producer for Broadway (although I’m new to Elixir and not yet confident in implementing this).

How would you approach something like that? Are there any other elixir native solutions that I’m missing? I would appreciate your insights and advice.

Thank you

What kind of volume are you expecting for these events?

Do you already have any kind of durable background jobs (Oban, etc) in the app?

If you do, the simplest approach would be to make “send a notification” into a job and rely on the tool.

I implemented something similar in Kafkaesque. Since I built it for work needs, it supports only Kafka. I’m planning to add support for custom adapters in the future. Maybe it can work as a reference for you.

Other options you might consider:

1 Like

The volume of messages will be low; I’m expecting something in the order of hundreds per day. I don’t have any durable background jobs for now because I’m in an early prototype stage of the app, but I’ll probably need one later. Do you think that I may want to start with something like Oban and, if necessary, replace it later if requirements change?