Loggin when Task fails due to raised exception

Hey there,

I’m new to Elixir and OTP and coming from an OO background, I’m still wrapping my head around Processes, Supervisors, Tasks etc.

I’m currently working on a little program that has to go through a bunch of files, read from them, parse the data and do something with it.

I’m trying to speed up this process by using Tasks and I’ve setup a TaskSupervisor which I then use to dynamically start Tasks that parse the data from the file.

It looks something like this

def do_the_thing(dir) do
    for file <- File.ls!(dir) do
      file_name = "#{dir}/#{file}"

File.read!(file_name)
      |> Parser.parse!()
      |> Enum.each(fn parsed_data ->
        Task.Supervisor.start_child(MyApp.TaskSupervisor, MyTask, :run, [
          parsed_data
        ])
      end)
    end
end

Now this works fine but when an error is raised and MyTask fails, I want to somehow trap the exception and log it in a file with additional metadata so I can see where it failed.

I had a try rescue block inside the MyTask.run function but I have a feeling that’s unnecessary since I’m fine with the Task failing, the ever vigilant Supervisor handles that for me just fine.

I guess my question is, what’s considered best practices when I want to catch exit reasons and log if they interest me. I tried to setup something with Process.monitor but couldn’t really figure out how to match exceptions and not :normal exits.

I’m not sure your approach is the best for what you want to achieve (although I’m no expert): although you’ll get the pid of the child process from start_child (and could therefore monitor it), it the task fails and restarts you won’t be able to “re-monitor” it.

If handling the first failure is good enough for you, the basic steps would be

{:ok, pid} = Task.Supervisor.start_child(MyApp.TaskSupervisor, MyTask, :run, [parsed_data])
ref = Process.monitor(pid)
receive do