Logging unhandled errors in Elixir Phoenix

I am new to Elixir/Phoenix. I am finding in hard to get in to the following topics.

1. How to catch the unhandled error’s and write to the log in production mode for debugging purposes?
    In dev mode phoenix gives a nice error page when unhandled exception occurs. Now in production mode if I need to catch that and write it in file then how to do that?

2. whats the recommended way to to log in production? Incase of application crash etc…

I referred an open source project https://github.com/thechangelog/changelog.com to check how they handled it. They use https://github.com/ForzaElixir/rollbax which is paid one.

Could someone please guide me on this?

Thanks.

1 Like

@shanmugharajk You don’t really need to do anything. If you’re running it on a bare linux box then run it inside Systemd and then the logs are just like any other log. If you’re running it inside a docker based system then the logs it emits can be handled like any other docker log.

1 Like

Thanks @benwilson512. I still didn’t start the deployment part or have any experience. I am totally new to API development too. That’s why I am bit confused.

Actually if something goes wrong I am getting a 500 Internal server error and the page explains stack trace and details which helps to debug.

In productions the same error

02:44:51.089 [error] #PID<0.856.0> running EposWeb.Endpoint (connection #PID<0.855.0>, stream id 1) terminated
Server: localhost:4000 (http)
Request: PUT /api/v1/sale/1549228052779/cart/A3
** (exit) an exception was raised:
    ** (KeyError) key :product_id not found in: %{"created_by" => "shan", "discount" => 440, "product_id" => "A3", "qty" => 10, "transaction_details_id" => "1549228052779", "transaction_id" => "1549228052779", "updated_by" => "shan"}
        (epos) lib/epos/sales/sales.ex:135: Epos.Sales.update_bill_total_in_cart/1
        (epos) lib/epos/sales/sales.ex:90: Epos.Sales.do_update_cart/1