Looking for suggestions on how to learn Elixir (I've done some python and C)

I’m new to elixir. I did some coding in python and C. I want to learn elixir for starting my career in web development. I need suggestions for starting my journey in elixir.

1 Like

Hi @RKC07 welcome!

I’d say the best place to start is still the Programming Elixir book, especially if you are new to functional programming. The guides on the official Elixir site are good, but the Programming Elixir book takes you at a slower pace that I think really facilitates learning for new people.

1 Like

Thank you @benwilson512. I think you are an experienced elixir programmer based on your title. I just want to know one thing before starting this elixir path which is “are elixir, dbms, phoenix and ash frameworks sufficient to develop full stack web applications without writing any code using javascript, react or svelte or vue or angular frameworks?”.

1 Like

If you replace “without writing any code using javascript, react or svelte or vue or angular frameworks” with “writing as little js as possible and without using react or svelte or vue or angular frameworks.”, then yes. It is unlikely that you will write zero javascript. But you will write orders of magnitude less than with other options.

3 Likes

Thank you for clarifying my doubt @zachdaniel. I very much appreciate it.

Here is my web development learning process:

1. Learn HTML,
  2. Learn CSS,
  3. Learn Elixir,
  4. Learn phoenix, and other related stuff, and
  5. Finally try to implement my app idea.

Is this process sufficient for my journey or do i need to learn javascript before elixir to achieve my goal of becoming a good web developer?
Can you help me with this question @zachdaniel ?

That looks like a good journey. You do not need to learn javascript before Elixir or Phoenix.

1 Like