Lyex - A SOAP client that will hopefully work

Greetings, Alchemists.

I have a really old project that I’ve been maintaining for the last 8 years. It’s written in .NET and has been growing very long in the tooth for a long time. It talks to around 10 SOAP services (yay…not). Lately I’ve been wanting to port it to Elixir but haven’t had much luck finding a SOAP lib that works. I could have settled on hard coding each service with templates and calling it a day. But the dirty developer in me thinks that’s insanely boring.

So I set out to build a client of my own.

I had to learn about how WSDL files are structured. Fun…yeah no.
Once I got a WSDL parsed into Elixir, I had to figure out how to use that. So what better chance to learn a bit about macros. That was fun!

Anyway, with a boring/typical name, Lyex was born.

The idea is to feed it a WSDL URI and it will download and cache the file(s). It will then generate a full client based on the operations found in the WSDL.

The client includes functions for every operation and typed structs based on the inputs and outputs of each operation.

This is an initial commit of Lyex and my first real used of macros in elixir-land.

I’d appreciate it if someone could throw a WSDL or two at it let me know how you fare.

Lyex @ GitHub

Cheers,
Chris

15 Likes

It seems that Lyex has an issue with WSDL containing multiple bindings. I will fix that up over the weekend

3 Likes

:clap: Great work, you did what I wanted to, I only had to talk to 1 SOAP service so I ended up hardcoding the templates and response parsers with sweet xml.

5 Likes

Thanks. I started and got obsessed with achieving the end goal. I’m sure a lot of you can understand that! Haha.

I’m committed to making this usable.

5 Likes

Ooo, I’m sorry, I had to do that at my last job almost 10 years ago, that was a horror… ^.^;

Yep, had to do the same… ^.^;

Seems punny to me. ^.^

This is awesome!