Macros - how are they different to functions? When should they be used? How do they differ to C's macros?

Hello, I’m new to Elixir.
I was reading about the macros of Elixir but didn’t quite get it. I know C and familiar with its marcos.
Although I didn’t quite understand Elixir’s macros yet. Could you answer my basic questions about macros:

1. What is the difference between functions and macros in Elixir?
  2. Why or when Should I use them?
  3. How they are different for C’s macros?
3 Likes

Re 1. Given:

my_thing(:some_param)

If my_thing is a macro, the line above will be evaluated at compilation time, otherwise it will be evaluated at run-time. Note that macro can invoke a function which means the function will be invoked at compilation time, which in turn means you can do all kinds of fancy and crazy stuff at compile-time.

Re 2. Use macros if functions are not enough to remove boilerplate. The line is blurry. Generally, avoid using macros.

Re 3. Elixir macros are safer (hygienic) and more powerful. They transform a piece of Elixir code into a different piece of Elixir code. The coolest thing is that the piece of code you’re working with is expressed as an Elixir data structure.

I highly recommend going through the blog series about macros by Saša Jurić.

4 Likes

Didn’t quite understand how C and Elixir macros are different? C also transforms a piece of C code into a different piece of C code right?

Does it? Last time I used them it worked more like a templating engine. AFAIK Elixir macros can inspect the code in ways that is not possible in C. For example:

iex(1)> quote do  # when macros receive args, they are quoted; how does it look like?
...(1)>   1 + 2
...(1)> end
{:+, [context: Elixir, import: Kernel], [1, 2]}

iex(2)> defmodule Fun do
...(2)>   defmacro transform({:+, context, args}) do  # must return code in quoted form
...(2)>     {:-, context, args}  # flip the + into -; leave rest as-is
...(2)>   end
...(2)> end