Mahaul - Supercharge the environment variables usage in your Elixir app

Hey all :wave:

I just published mahaul package for streamlining the environment variables usage in your Elixir apps. Parse and validate your environment variables easily in Elixir with the following benefits.

• Compile time access guarantees
  • Parsed values with accurate elixir data types
  • Validation of required values before app boot
  • mix environment specific defaults and fallbacks

Read more for understanding why to use this package and its benefits. The complete documentation for mahaul is available online at HexDocs.

We have been using this in production and it has already saved us from bad releases where we deployed to production and forgot to set the needed environment variables after an update. Though it seems to work nicely for a variety of use cases, I’m relatively new to Elixir (only a few months) so I’d love your inputs and reviews on this.

Thanks to this wonderful Elixir community, I’ve never come across anything like this from a community standpoint, so hats off, I’m enjoying every moment of it since the day I started learning Elixir :heavy_heart_exclamation:

10 Likes

Not bad!

The only issue I have with this library is the fact that you have to define the variables in separate modules. I think it would be nice to be able to define the variables directly in dev.exs, runtime.exs, and most probably it can be achieved with some metaprogramming magic.

I really like the idea of compile time guarantees for env variables at first glance, but I guess it’s false confidence b/c the env can always change on you after compilation leading to runtime errors. Still seems like a nice useful library. Thanks for sharing.

@D4no0 I’m not sure if I understand the issue, can you please provide some example or reference?