Map vs keyword list in library api

Hi,
I am working on a small library. The goal of the library is to have a native LiveView data table.
I am a beginner in Elixir but I managed to do everything I’ve planned so far. But there is one thing that I am struggling with and that is API design. Now my API of the library looks like this:

DefaultLiveTable.render(
      data: &get_data/1,
      columns: [
        %{field: :name, filtering: %{enable: true, variant: :multiple_select, options: %{a: "a", b: "b"}}},
        %{field: :surname, filtering: %{enable: true, variant: :string}}
      ],
      actions: [
        %{
          value: "Edit",
          patch: Routes.default_path(socket, :index)
        }
      ]
    )

But I am not sure if it wouldn’t be better to use keyword lists instead of maps like this:

DefaultLiveTable.render(
      data: &get_data/1,
      columns: [
        [field: :name, filtering: [enable: true, variant: :multiple_select, options: [a: "a", b: "b"]]],
        [field: :surname, filtering: [enable: true, variant: :string]]
      ],
      actions: [
        [
          value: "Edit",
          patch: Routes.default_path(socket, :index)
        ]
      ]
    )

I found working with maps easier because they work better with pattern matching and elements are accessible by dot syntax. But keyword lists are easier to write, and users wouldn’t need to wonder where to use maps and where lists.

What do you think?

I think the library should accept both and deal with maps internally by calling Map.new/1 on the argument when a keyword list has been supplied.

One tip is you can take your options that you get from the user, pass it to Map.new/1, and then you can pattern match knowing it’s a map for sure. This way users can pass either a keyword list or a map and either will work.

Enum.into is also a great way to merge user provided opts into e.g. a map of defaults.

1 Like

So I implemented Map.new/1 and it works perfectly. Thanks for the tip :grinning: