Maps: Access dynamic key

First post here ! :partying_face:

I’m kind of new to Elixir and I have an issue accessing a specific key when this key is a variable.
Let’s say you have:

a_map = %{name: "Martine", list: %{
    "key1" => %{a_key: "A value", another_key: "Another value"},
    "key2" => %{a_key: "A value", another_key: "Another value"}
}}

Now I want to update, or even replace, the another_key for any key in a variable:

key = "key1"
a_map = update_in(a_map[:list][key][:another_key], &(&1 <> " updated"))

This returns me function get_and_update/3 is undefined

How can I update a map in this scenario ? Do I have to use the merge map syntaxe ?

Welcome! The code works well in my iex, maybe error from some where else?

Thanks for your response !
So, yep this code works, which is surprising for me.

Here is the “real” code with the actual error.
The Struct:

%App.Games.Game{
  id: "owieruoiewurwer",
  name: "Game 1",
  players: %{
    "jwuiyeywi" => %App.Games.Player{
      admin: true,
      card: nil,
      name: "Bastien",
      role: "BA"
    },
    "oiwueroiquw" => %App.Games.Player{
      admin: false,
      card: nil,
      name: "Sylvain",
      role: "DEV"
    }
  }
}

And then:

key = "jwuiyeywi"
put_in(game[:players][key][:card], "2")

Which throw:

** (UndefinedFunctionError) function App.Games.Game.get_and_update/3 is undefined (App.Games.Game does not implement the Access behaviour)
(easy_poker_planning 0.1.0) App.Games.Game.get_and_update(%App.Games.Game{id: “owieruoiewurwer”, name: “Game 1”, players: %{“jwuiyeywi” => %App.Games.Player{admin: true, card: nil, name: “Bastien”, role: “BA”}, “oiwueroiquw” => %App.Games.Player{admin: false, card: nil, name: “Sylvain”, role: “DEV”}}}, :players, #Function<44.79398840/1 in :erl_eval.expr/5>)
(elixir 1.11.3) lib/access.ex:346: Access.get_and_update/3

You’ll want to use . with structs rather than [], something like put_in(game.players[key].card, "2")

3 Likes