Merging (upserting) a list of maps into an existing list of maps the right way?

Hi all! I’m a newbie who just struggled for a day and a half implementing what I thought would be a very simple problem.

The problem: Given an existing list of maps, merge an incoming list of maps… appending to the list when a map with a new composite key (action and legal_inventories) arrives and updating a string if the composite key already exists.

Example:

iex(1)> existing_actions = [%{action: "provision", legal_inventories: ["development", "production"],
   name: "Deploy SSL Certs & Provision Postfix Relay"},
 %{action: "provision-deploy", legal_inventories: ["development", "production"],
   name: "Deploy SSL Certs & Provision Postfix Relay"}]
iex(2)> new_or_updated_actions = [%{action: "deploy", legal_inventories: ["development", "production"],
   name: "Deploy Postfix Relay Users"},
   name: "Deploy Postfix Relay Users"}]
iex(3)> Testing.apply_new_or_updated_actions(existing_actions, new_or_updated_actions)
[%{action: "provision", legal_inventories: ["development", "production"],
   name: "Deploy SSL Certs & Provision Postfix Relay"},
   name: "Deploy SSL Certs & Provision Postfix Relay & Deploy Postfix Relay Users"},
 %{action: "deploy", legal_inventories: ["development", "production"],
   name: "Deploy Postfix Relay Users"}]

This code works:

defmodule Testing do
  def apply_new_or_updated_actions(valid_actions, new_or_updated_actions) do
    # first update valid_actions, then insert any new actions to the list.
    valid_actions = update_valid_actions(valid_actions, [], new_or_updated_actions)
    Enum.reduce(new_or_updated_actions, valid_actions, &insert_if_new/2)
  end

defp update_valid_actions([], new_valid_actions, _new_or_updated_actions) do
    new_valid_actions
  end
  defp update_valid_actions([head_valid_action|tail_valid_actions], new_valid_actions, new_or_updated_actions) do