ML Classification with string input, and turning strings to Tensors

Hey all, i’m trying to train a classification model (Trying EXGBoost and KNN) To predict a packaging type based on order content.

My data is numerical (total volume, item count, total weight), but one important piece of data is textual, a “semi-structured” text, which essentially represents item shapes and their count in the order: count-code, code representing ‘200g can’ ex:

• 2-C16
  • 3-C12, 4-A24
  • 3-C12, 4-A24, 2-C16

With some research, I found that one approach to use that data alongside my numerical data is to turn those strings into a vector, and then normalize it.

Is there something similar to Word2Vec? The plan is to turn that into a Tensor and then normalize it.

I’m also considering turning it to binary, and turning that binary into a Tensor.

I’m not really a data scientist, so any help / direction is very much appreciated :slight_smile:

Thanks!

2 Likes

Unfortunately, I can’t help with that.

But I’d suggest you also ask for help in the “machine-learning” channel in EEF’s Slack. The Elixir machine-learning community is quite active there.

1 Like

Thanks again Hugo! and thanks for the EEF slack, a gem :slight_smile:

If the structured text is made of a limited alphabet that can be turned into categorical data, that’s probably the most effective thing to do. What I mean is that something like “200g can”, “1500ml bottle”, etc. can be turned into 3 attributes like “size: 200, unit: g, type: can”, or “size: 1500, unit: ml, type: bottle”, where “size” is numerical, while “unit” and “type” are categorical. Many classification algorithms like decision trees and random forests can use a mix of numerical and categorical data.

If it’s really unstructured text, things will be more difficult. Something like Word2Vec is in principle quite easy to train, but you would need a lot of data in order to train effective embeddings.