MongooseIM in Elixir

Hi! I’m quite new to Elixir/Phoenix and to BEAM in general, however I hope to be working quite intensely with these tools throughout the year.

I am about to commence work towards developing a (group)chat/voicecall/videocall Web Application, with a secure XMPP compliant and federated back-end written in Elixir on the Phoenix framework

I’m at the point in development where I am transitioning from soft-systems work to the defining of the software scope, so I’m defining the finer details of the main requirements of the system. One of the problems I’ve come across here concerns defining and describing the general interfaces of a federated XMPP server between other XMPP servers and clients that may have differing degrees of compatibility.

I understand that very capable Erlang backed instant messenger applications exist, ostensibly the most capable as well as most accessible being MongooseIM at the moment (please correct me if I’m terribly mistaken).

My understanding is that MongooseIM’s backend is largely, if not entirely written in Erlang. Would it be advisable to study its architecture and try to construct a corresponding server but in Elixir, rather than Erlang? The reason I am using elixir is because I want to leverage the Phoenix framework, and have the option of adding other features to the web application not relating to XMPP (by the way, would I need to use a separate not necessarily XMPP compliant server to support such an extension to the application?).

I would really appreciate any contribution from community with respect to guiding me in this matter.

1 Like

Yes, is MongooseIM is 95.2% Erlang as seen here https://github.com/esl/MongooseIM

Also you can mix Erlang and Elixir, no need to rewrite anything - these languages are not mutually exclusive.

Architecture-weise they will probably be similar since both would use BEAM and OTP.

4 Likes