MSSQL and Ecto3

I want to write an elixir application performing some ETL work on an SQL Server database (I can see how to do it with ecto, and other ways I can see doing it are harder).

I have found mssql_ecto which does not seem to work with ecto 3, and tds_ecto also seems to not be up to date (I am aware of a fork of ecto_sql but could not glean much from it). Are there any other things I can try to make it work that I have not seen yet?

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum!

I’m relatively new to Elixir as well, but for what I’ve seen Ecto adapters for commercial DBs are not updated as often as open source ones. It seems to be just a matter of the number of people using and maintaining those adapters.

You already found what is available for MS SQL. If you want/have to keep working with that DB, you’ll have to use Ecto 2.

Regards

1 Like

Thanks for your reply.

I already thought that was going to be the case, but it never hurts to ask whether I missed something.

2 Likes

There are efforts which seem to be almost completed to bring MySQL up to speed. But not sure the core team would tackle MSSQL afterwards (or ever).

I personally think it could help Elixir’s adoption a lot.

3 Likes

You might try reaching out to the author of this issue:

to see if they need help / additional contributors.

3 Likes

@lindem,

I am developing a Phoenix app using a legacy mssql database with tds_ecto and ecto 2.

Since I have plans to migrate to postgres I switch my app from tds_ecto + ecto 2 to postgrex + ecto 3 several times a week.

I have not found any unsolvable issues yet and everything seems to work fine.

Please let me know if I can help with a particular issue.

Regards

1 Like

Thanks for all the replies.

@dimitarvp The company I have intended to do this for firmly believes in MSSQL, so those places exist.