My first public site using Phoenix - gentle criticism needed!

I recently built out a site using Elixir and LiveView that allows you to store your documents (potentially uploaded by clients) encrypted. The files are encrypted using public key cryptography and are unencrypted on the fly. The unencrypted files are then deleted off the server every 10 minutes by a cron job.

One thing to note is that the design really sucks. Unfortunately, I am not a designer, but if you know one who is willing to work on the site either for free (temporarily) or for very cheap (I’ve been out of work for a while now), please tell them to get in touch with me.

Please offer your criticism gently as this is my first public facing website and idea. Here it is:

https://protected-docs.io

To get started, first sign up for the site. Then you need to input your password again to create the GPG public/private keypair on the backend. Then, create a client with the “New client” button. Click on that client, and from there, you can upload a document (max 10MB for free users at the moment). Click on that document, and the site will prompt you for your password again to decrypt. The private key should be cached on the backend for some time, so if you refresh the page, you won’t have to input your password again immediately. Then, click on the link in the table to view your document in its unencrypted form.

There is also a subscription functionality which increases the filesize limit to 50MB. There is a free 7 day trial for that, so if you are feeling brave, you can help me test that functionality as well. In case you go past the 7 days or are for some reason (due to a bug) charged, I can refund you via Stripe.

That’s it. Thanks for checking this out for me. Cheers!

2 Likes