My modules are too object-oriented...help?

Hi, all,

I’m new to functional programming in general and decided to start by learning Elixir. My background is in procedural and object-oriented programming, C and C++ from college and Python/JavaScript since then. I plan to eventually build web applications with Elixir, but I’ve read that “Phoenix isn’t your app” so I want to get a good understanding of structuring a software project in Elixir first before adding a Phoenix application as a “web interface”, Ecto as the “database interface”, etc.

With the news that Meetup may be switching to a paid model, I decided it would be fun to build some of the core Meetup functionality as an Elixir app. My thinking was that I could build a Meetup application for the core details, like attendance tracking, marking attendees as paid, generating instances of recurring meetups, and similar stuff like that, then extend that functionality for custom Meetup types like tournaments.

I’ve taken PragDave’s Elixir for Programmers course, so i have that code as a reference. I also have a ton of books that I’m slowly working through as I’m building this Meetup clone, but I don’t think the “Elixir way” of building out functionality is sinking in. Why? Because my first version of the modules I’m building look awfully object-oriented to me.

I have a module for Attendance, which is basically just a finite state machine between “signed up” and “checked in” with a “paid” attribute. I thought “well, easy enough.” I created a structure containing the “signup” state and a boolean for payment status.

Next, I moved on to a module for recurrence rules. I basically created a wrapper around the ExCal library. Every recurrence has a frequency, a list of days to repeat on, and a starting day. “Oh, easy enough to model”, I thought, and promptly made a structure containing those three attributes.

Hmm…I’m seeing a pattern here…