Need help with testing and Mox

Hello!

So not so long ago I started learning Elixir (coming from python myself). To ease it up, I started a small project for myself(link). And I am trying to cover the module with tests.
I need an extremely easy thing - mock a function in my module in the tests. So I’ve decided to follow this article

To be more specific:

1. I need to mock this function
  2. This function is used in function get_config_from_file and i want to test this function.
  3. I define a mock of this module with mox: link
  4. I try to use this mock in a test: link
  5. But when I try to call a function get_config_from_file from this mock, I get an error:
1) test config from file (Spacebrew.Config.Test)
 test/configuration_test.exs:8
 ** (Mox.UnexpectedCallError) no expectation defined for Spacebrew.ConfigMock.get_config_from_file/1 in process #PID<0.193.0>
 code: assert Spacebrew.ConfigMock.get_config_from_file(
 stacktrace:
   (mox) lib/mox.ex:551: Mox.__dispatch__/4
   test/configuration_test.exs:15: (test)

I understand that it says I should write an expect for the function i call. But why? I need it to be an original function from the module and only a paths function to be mocked.

I understand that I am wrong conceptually, I just don’t understand where and when :
Please help, as I am getting frustrated :cry:

1 Like

You already have part of the setup to get it to work… In Spacebrew.Config, you define @callback but also provides the implementation which does not make sense.

• The callbacks should be definde in an “abstract” module
  • The runtime binding (ie module, with @behaviour Spacebrew.Config) should be defined in config.exs
  • You already defined a “virtual” module in test_helper.exs

Since your mock is a virtual module implementing the behaviour, any function required in the scope of a test needs to be mocked.

1 Like

Thanks for the answer!