NervesKey and Certificates Questions

I am very new to Embedded Systems and looking into Nerves to use in one of our IoT device. We are planning to use NervesKey on the board for secure communication channel.

As per my understanding, the primary key generated on NervesKey remain there and never leaves it. The device certificate will be generated based on the public key of this private key. This device certificate will be signed by an intermediate certificate which has some expiry set. So in this scenario, if the device certificate does not get updated on time, the communication channel will break and we won’t be able to access device.

To resolve this, we can notify the device 30 days before the expiration to update its certificate to continue using the same secure channel.

My questions in this regard are:

1. Is it possible to update the device certificate as I believe it is going to be placed in in the storage of NervesKey which is available for modification. Is this correct understanding?
  2. For any reason if we are not able to update the certificate, we can always visit the site, connect via ssh to device over local network and copy the updated certificate. Is this correct as well?

Thank you.

1 Like

Hi @meraj,

The NervesKey is really an ATECC608A. These chips are highly configurable so for Nerves, we decided on a setup that worked for our use cases of connecting to AWS IoT and NervesHub. There are two slots for keys and certificates: one slot is permanent and the other can be rewritten as much as you want (it’s called the aux slot for historical reasons). Everything is open-source, so you can modify it if you want, but my hope is that you don’t need to.

One thing to be aware of is that public key infrastructure is used more simply in practice with IoT services (I’m familiar with NervesHub and AWS IoT, but I’ve been told that others are similar).