New guy on team - wants to replace progressively enhanced pages with jQuery plugins only - am I being unreasonable?

First off apologies for the huge post. I kinda feel a bit of back story is useful.

By trade I’m a sysadmin at a small (<10 employees) company. At work we have a small internal tool that is largely CRUD based, and was written very quickly nearly 10 years ago with few changes since. About a year a go I decided to use my spare time to experiment rewriting it from PHP (Zend Framework v1) to Phoenix to modernise it and use things like channels to solve a few real world issues we had. (Also what better to play with a new language than something you know?)

For frontend I went for a combination of Turbolinks and recently replaced the few bits of raw JavaScript to using Stimulusjs to give a little more structure.

Recently I was given the go ahead to use in-hours time to finish up the app, as well as a new junior has been assigned to help as I’ve got lots on. Which I felt was great.

The first few weeks he was getting accustomed to our business and he’s done small changes to the existing PHP app. These first weeks were full of complaints about a framework having been used at all.

He’s now progressed onto the Phoenix version. He wants to replace functioning parts of the frontend with jQuery plugins. I’m not hugely bothered about most of it, because who cares about datepickers, etc. I’d honestly prefer no jQuery since we don’t really need it, but if he understands it better that’s fine.