New to Elixir is this App architecture feasible?

Hello everyone, I am new to Elixir and after reading around the internet regarding the (lack of) performance of Elixir/Erlang message passing (no offense intended), using the Elixir docs (very high quality imo!) I came up with the following “test case” architecture to see if Elixir is a good fit for the type of problems I solve:

http://192.210.237.111/Benchmark_ETS_system.png

Before I either learn enough Elixir to do this myself, or pay someone else to build this benchmark for me. I wanted to post here and ask is this completely wrong/infeasible? Has this been done before, if so where can I find the results? Should I stick to C++ backends if I care about milliseconds?

Thanks in advance

Should I stick to C++ backends if I care about milliseconds?

Yes, you’re not going to see the kind of ~throughput~ latency you might be used to.

If you care about having a responsive system under high load then elixir/erlang will shine. (There are plenty of other reasons too, but I won’t enumerate them because people far more eloquent than I already have)

1 Like

Is that true? Millisecond responses are reasonable in elixir land, and the beam is optimized for throughput, not latency (ms latency is no big deal), but generally your bottleneck is going to be network in a distributed system like this. Only problem is that the diagram doesn’t show an end-to-end client story, so how can we know what the user latency should be in the first place?

Unless you are doing something like a high-frequency trading system, or an automated manufacturing architecture where 1-5ms latency might mean broken materials (or machines) then Elixir will serve you just fine.

But to be able to answer properly you should tell us: how much load do you expect? Is the latency critical and how much (with what timing tolerance)? What’s your general intended use-case?