New to elixir, need some directions input

Hi everyone,

I am new to elixir (bought Udemy - Stephen Grider’s course)… half way … but still consider really new.

I have a few questions, wonder you could provide your suggestions/inputs.

1. Is concurrent really important for web development - single page application? Which I can use vue.js or react.js + laravel or django? So how does elixir win here? If it’s really important… why ruby/django/php are dominating the web?
  2. If it’s concurrent, how does it differ with Golang? Not trying to create a language war. But Golang has a lot of companies/users using it. That really really confused me whether should I go with Golang or Elixir?
  3. Based on what I understand, if it’s a single server, Golang is much much faster than Elixir. As Golang compiles to native code vs Elixir on a vm… the question is does it matter to web development or Elixir? As the speed, i have seen blogs where experts claim they could downsize the number of servers + faster executions too.
  4. Since elixir which is powered by erlang is more towards distributed stuff… and since i am just building a single page app with some REST end points (not real time e.g. chat stuff)… I still don’t see why elixir is suitable here? Does that mean I should elixir only for real time stuff… basic web apps e.g. CRM, CMS, better go with Golang, or Django?
  5. I am not a functional language expert… does functional language can apply to all possible projects? or only suited for certain domain?
  6. Can Elixir use to build scraper, bots, console programs (non web stuff)?
  7. Lastly, let’s say I want to build an online cinema ticketing system or air flight system where I can build a choose your seats on real time basis, is Phoenix/Elixir suitable for this? I believe I still need to use react.js or vue.js to render the front end right?

Any tips? Thanks.

3 Likes