Noob issue getting Elixir / hello world demo running on FreeBSD 12.2-RELEASE-p1 - undefined function get_session/1

Hi all. Elixir noob here, 1st post. Apologies for the wall of text.

Trying out Elixir / Phoenix on my FreeBSD box, following the tute at Up and Running — Phoenix v1.5.8

Firstly, installed this on a fresh Ubuntu 20.10 running in a VM on the FreeBSD box, and that worked fine. Using the instructions from here - Installing Elixir - The Elixir programming language So Im confident that my procedure is correct.

On the FreeBSD host machine, I installed using
pkg install elixir

then followed the same guide as on the linux box
https://hexdocs.pm/phoenix/up_and_running.html

Get as far as mix ecto.create and then the problems begin on the FreeBSD box

Final error is

== Compilation error in file lib/plug/debugger.ex ==
** (CompileError) lib/plug/debugger.ex:277: undefined function get_session/1
    (elixir 1.10.4) src/elixir_locals.erl:114: anonymous fn/3 in :elixir_locals.ensure_no_undefined_local/3
    (stdlib 3.8.2.4) erl_eval.erl:680: :erl_eval.do_apply/6

Ive gone through the loop a few times of installing extra elixir pkgs to solve similar errors, but now Ive installed the lot, and stuck with this error. Erlang is installed, and getting in and out of both the Elixir and the Erlang repl is fine.

I can see that both get_session/1 and get_session/2 are defined in deps/plug/lib/plug/conn.ex … and if I compare those files on both my linux box and my FreeBSD box - they are identical (same md5 hash too). So its not the elixir libs at fault.

One big clue - on the FreeBSD install only - it throws a lot of warnings about redefining modules, ie - on mix ecto.create I see these sorts of warnings on a page full of libs :

warning: redefining module Plug.Session.COOKIE (current version loaded from /usr/local/lib/elixir/bin/../lib/plug/ebin/Elixir.Plug.Session.COOKIE.beam)
  lib/plug/session/cookie.ex:1