OCaml Riot, an actor-model multi core scheduler - thoughts?

Somebody told me about OCaml’s Riot the other day and I wanted to get some opinions on it. I remember seeing @OvermindDL1 speak highly of OCaml in the past.

1 Like

Ocaml 5 is definitively hot technology and the whole language is a beauty! I am not an Ocaml expert, though I can see two technical difficulties in general:

• Shared mutable state
  • Garbage collection

Unlike Rust, Ocaml does not have “fearless concurrency”. As long as shared mutable state stays within the same scheduler thread, everything should be fine but once you start sharing it between threads, you easily shoot yourself into your foot.

From a performance perspective, the Ocaml GC used to be stop-the-world, not sure if this is still true for Ocaml 5.

Rust got plenty of these actor-model libraries, including one modeled after Pony’s actor system: Michael Neumann / tractor · GitLab (disclaimer: I wrote it :).

5 Likes

Also sharing mutable data make the GC much more complex, especially if you need to do it across threads.

4 Likes

I believe they are quite aware of it and that’s why they are pushing hard to make their effects library have a stable API next, if memory serves well.

1 Like

I haven’t been paying close attention, but there are some deep-dives into the process of getting OCaml to play well with multicore that are a good read:

As to Riot itself, at a glance the code example looks… like BEAM process-handling code written with an ML flavor. :man_shrugging:

2 Likes

Don’t forget strong static typing. To me that’s an improvement, though I never could find the bandwidth to learn OCaml. I am using my extra energy and time to learn async Rust better and boy, does it drain that and a lot more…

1 Like

YMMV; as commonly encountered in strongly-typed messaging systems, the need to add every possible message shape to Riot.Message.t seems suboptimal.