Organising your Phoenix app into components

Hi all,

I’m quite new to web development and recently I’ve started working on a website using Phoenix. I realized pretty quickly that I need to find a way to reuse as much of my HTML as possible, otherwise I’d end up duplicating a lot of code. Refactoring it later would be even more of a nightmare. I haven’t found an effective way of doing it though, so I was wondering if anyone here has any suggestions.

I’ve tried 2 approaches:

1. Create a directory “components” inside your template (you can get creative here) and put a partial html.eex file there with parameters like <%= @arg %> and if needed <%= @content %> block as well. then inside your views create components_view.ex which might contain methods like render_modal(arg do: block), do: render_modal("_modal.html", content: block, arg: arg). It can then be used inside your other html.eex files as <%= MyAppWeb.ComponentsView.render_modal "arg1" do %> ... <%end%>.

2. Surface UI: A React/Vue inspired library for LiveView. This is a very elegant solution and I really hope this project grows in popularity, however, I’ve struggled with it. First, I got the impression that its components only work with live page, not html.eex (I could we be wrong though) – this became a problem when I was dealing with authentication (phx.gen.auth) which I believe requires controllers. Second, it really concerned me that when I ran into problems, there was virtually no information online about the problems I was facing because this library is so new. Additionally, if you go with Surface, then I don’t think that you can use embedded Elixir anymore, you are forced to use the Surface directives, which I think is fair enough.