OTP counterpart in golang?

I have some experience using OTP, but know basically nothing about golang. My question is that is there an alternative to OTP in golang. I mean GenServer, Supervisor and Supervision Tree, if I want to use similar stuffs in golang.

A says the design idea of BEAM is ‘let it crash’, but in golang, it is ‘let us handle’. Therefore there is no counterpart.
B says they use vagrant or docker for similar tasks.
C says golang is cooperative scheduling, and also BEAM is, while there is a fixed reduction count for each process, so it is preemptive scheduling for programmers, thus there is no starvation.

Any thoughts?

There is a library called Suture that tries to mimic supervision trees in a Go way. It’s different because at a fundamental level goroutines have different constructs, but it’s worth looking at.

1 Like

I don’t think there is way around the cooperative schedule issue other than invoking the go scheduler manually. However, here are a few alternatives for other things:

1. Process inbox => Golang channels. However, golang can have multiple processes receiving messages from the same channel and the channels need to have a buffer limit, unlike unlimited messages in erlang.
  2. Supervision: Like @brightball mentioned suture aims to provide something similar. However, I haven’t really played with it.
  3. :ets => Golang has syncmaps now.

One of the big differences is that erlang processes are addressable using a pid, whereas golang processes are not. This makes a huge difference in how you architect things.

1 Like

I don’t think you can properly implement OTP in Go, due to some lack of guarantees in the runtime layer. In particular, with go runtime:

• an undeferred panic takes down the whole system
  • it’s not possible to forcefully terminate a busy goroutine
  • shared memory does not guarantee state isolation, so even if you defer a panic the state might be corrupted