Parsing custom query language and query Ecto database

I’m rewriting a query parser I have already written in Python twice, with pyparsing/sqlalchemy, and with ply/django. I am now interested in seeing it at work within Elixir. I am VERY new to Elixir, so I’m afraid I’m not yet in the right mindset.

this is the target:

and this is the corresponding ply/Python code:

I am not sure about a large amount of issues.

when tokenizing words, I have reserved words, too. in my ply grammar, I let the user write strings quoted or unquoted, but I think I will drop this, to make things easier. or what would you suggest?

are there guidelines / better styles to follow when speaking of Terminals and Nonterminals? I would put Terminals in ALL CAPS, but what’s the impact on the code?

to make an example, is the form ‘[’ preferable to LBRACKET ?

coming from Python, I realise I have the inclination to think I’m producing an object when parsing the query string, and in the end I would evaluate the object, which would be a query. but I guess this is not the way I should think here. I would be building a data structure, which I would then feed to one or more functions (as many as the methods of my python class), defined by pattern-match.

leaving alone when we come to Ecto, where I will need to compute unions and intersections and negations of query sets… and navigating relations between tables… and implementing aggregating functions.

just as an example, these are two legal queries:
taxon where rank.id>=17 and count(verifications)>0
accession where id in [1 5 111] and count(plants.images)>0

it would be of great help getting: code contributions and reviews, reading suggestions, related GPL software sources.

1 Like

I’d highly suggest checking out https://github.com/plataformatec/nimble_csv as far as parsing goes.

Hmmmmm I think maybe @benwilson512 meant nimble_parsec. Which would be good for this project, more expressive and easier to debug than leex and yecc.

3 Likes