Passing functions between processes

I’ve got a pretty generic GenServer that I’ve created that I want to use in a few contexts. In each context, there’s a specific function that the component will have to call, but I want the specific implementation to be different for each instance. I’m still new to elixir, so I may be wrong with this, but I figure I have the following options:

1. pass the function as an init arg to the component
  2. Make a bass component and then override the specific behaviour by subclassing via “use” in the same way that I currently ‘sub-class’ genserver via “use” (How do I properly phrase this? It feels like ‘subclassing’ but there’s probably a proper way to say this.

Also, in general, are there any problems with passing functions/closures between processes? Would it still work in a distributed Elixir environment?

What you’re describing sounds like a behavior. Behaviors specify @callback functions that any module that uses the behavior needs to define. You’ll frequently see those implementations annotated with @impl true or @impl WhateverTheBehaviorModuleIs.

GenServer and Plug are both good examples of this style.

1 Like

second the look up behaviours recommendation.

Elixir module/function calls are duck typed. You can do something like this:

module = SomeModuleName
module.some_function()

and there there’s no compile time checking to see if some_function is valid in the SomeModuleName module namespace.

you can pass closures between nodes. Just do it!

1.Make two sname’d elixir nodes (iex --sname foo --cookie bar; iex --sname baz --cookie bar),
2. connect them with Node.connect/1
3. on baz, do the following:

spawn(fn ->
  lambda = receive do f -> f end
  IO.puts(lambda(1))
end)
|> Process.register(Catcher)

then on foo do the following:

lambda = fn x -> x + 1 end
Node.spawn(:baz@<whatever-your-hostname-is>, fn ->
  send(Catcher, lambda)
end)