Phoenix - authentication

Hi,

I am pretty new to Phoenix Authentication and would just like to ask what packages/combination you guys are usually using for…

1.) Basic auth - username/email, password authentication. I saw here some examples, but I would like to have more than 1 user in config. Like a system with email/pass entries in DB?

2.) More sophisticated auth - like OAuth2 (providers like github, fb,…)

3.) API authentication

I would really appreciate some suggestions here. Currently mostly need no. 1, but suggestions for 2 and 3 are more than welcome.

Thanks in advance!

Best,
Tomaz

2 Likes

For 2, there is Ueberauth.
For 3, there is Phoenix token

I am not using basic auth, but if I should, I would probably use a homemade solution, storing auth info into session. As I would do for a Rails application.

Please note also Guardian that might be useful in some scenario.

There’s also quite a big thread on auth that you might want to look at:

1 Like

I recommend using Phauxth

2 Likes

I would say guardian and ueberauth covers all three points. Currently using this auth system in multiple projects and no issues occurred till now.

1 Like

I have been using phauxth in a new project and it is the best I have used IMHO, integrates easy, very simple to understand/extend. I also have used guardian which is good, and coherence which is also good, but more “full featured” and a bit more rigid than I like. I am planning to write a blog series on the very topic, however been caught up with work lately - first post is here though if you want to check it out (shameless plug) phoenix auth part one

Cheers!

5 Likes

So far I’ve only used HTTP Basic auth via simple webserver (Hiawatha) configuration in a file for an API, which allows for differing usernames and passwords to be set.