Phoenix.PubSub stopped working in LiveView

I am at bit of a loss here since this issue has come out of the blue and I have no idea what has happened.

I have a MQTT subscriber that publishes messages to Phoenix.PubSub. I know this works as I can subscribe to these messages in the iex console and manually preview the messages in the message box. I know for sure that the broadcasting part of the PubSub is firing and working.

To try and debug what is going on I created a very very simple LiveView below.

defmodule BrokerExWeb.HumidityLive do
  use BrokerExWeb, :live_view

alias Phoenix.PubSub

def mount(_, _, socket) do
    if connected?(socket) do
      PubSub.subscribe(BrokerEx.PubSub, BrokerEx.Workstation.Cutter.topic(1, 1))
    end

{:ok, socket |> assign(:humidity, 1)}
  end

def render(assigns) do
    ~H"""
    <div><%= @humidity %></div>
    """
  end
end

I was expecting this to start receiving messages (and falling over because I haven’t defined a handle_info callback), however the process never receives anything.

Does anyone know what might be happening here?

OMG I am still hungover from the weekend.

Just defining the handle_info callback sorted it. For some reason I was waiting for it die because I hadn’t.

Please ignore me.

I don’t see where you wrote the broadcast call to send events to the subscriber.

Also, try Using LiveBook, instead of iex to connect to your running instance. It will make life easier, you won’t have to keep aliasing Phoenix.PubSub every time you restart. (Or write your setup code in .iex.exs.)

Thanks for the tip, I don’t suppose you have a link to a tutorial for how to set that up? Sounds like it’ll be really useful going forwards.

Sure, it’s simple.

1. Just start your application by giving a name & cookie:
    elixir --sname derpycoder --cookie wubalubadubdub -S mix phx.server

2. Open up a LiveBook

3. Click on Runtime Icon on Sidebar:
    Runtime Configure

4. Pass in the app name & cookie

5. Connection Success