Phoenix server is delivering default HTML instead of requested JS files

Hi all

I’m pretty new to Elixir/Phoenix so hopefully this isn’t a noob mistake…

I am currently seeing an issue with (I think) the cache manifest whereby my site delivers HTML and CSS files properly but for JS files, the default HTML template is being delivered - which results in an error like:

Refused to execute script from 'http://example.com:4000/js/MyApp.prod.app.js' because its MIME type ('text/html') is not executable, and strict MIME type checking is enabled.

Server console is showing:

[debug] Processing with Mag.PageController.index/2
  Parameters: %{"path" => ["js", "MyApp.prod.app.js"]}
  Pipelines: [:browser]
[info] Sent 200 in 245µs

Which suggests it thinks it has delivered the file - is that correct?

I can see in the Chrome Dev Tools Network tab that the response from this request is the app.html.eex file.

I have confirmed that the file listed as the current version in cache_manifest.json does exist on the server - the CSS files are (seemingly) being delivered in the same way and work fine.

The project was built on OSX, which is where the original phx.digest command was run. I am trying to use it on CentOS - I’m not deploying a full package, merely re-running phx.server on the CentOS box. I also tried running phx.digest on the CentOS box to no avail.

This may not impact anything but I’m running Phoenix inside a Docker container on the CentOS box.

Any help greatly appreciated and please let me know if I can provide any additional information.

1 Like

For some reason it matches your page controllers index route. Could you please show us the output of mix phx.routes, the actual definitions from the routes.ex file and also in your endpoint.ex the line(s) starting with plug Plug.Static?

I’m not sure yet if this matters, but have you built the application inside of that centos container or on the mac os?