(Phoenix.Template.UndefinedError) Could not render "index.html"

hi. I am new to elixir and Phoenix and wrote a first app… this apps works fine when i run it in dev mode and with prod release on my local machine. I want to deploy with docker and thought this will work as well, the docker build after the mix task … gen.release --docker starts, but with the first access via browser it fails with this error:

** (Phoenix.Template.Und
efinedError) Could not render "index.html" for ProberParameterfileAsse
mblerWeb.PostsView, please define a matching clause for render/2 or de
fine a template at "lib/proberparameterfileassembler_web/templates/pos
ts/*". No templates were compiled for this module.

after seaching for a fix I tried with the mix compile --force but the error still occurs.

I recently updated to elixir 1.14.1 and phoenix 1.6.15 (from 1.4 , it was started with) but there i had not tried the docker deployment.

can someone help me ? I think there is a minor think i was not aware of. if you need more logs/ file contents … i will provide.

thanks in advance

Are you deploying the same versions across dev and production ?

This is kind of demo… There is no real application jet. But I want to share this demo with colleagues…

And I was not sure if ‘release’ really works with dev and so on. So yes… It’s the same. I also can switch to dev for the deployment… But I think the issue will be the same.

Why you asking?

Sadly I am at a point where I think about to skip this
Elixir/Phoenix solution… I heared a lot awesome and nice stories about it. But for me it feels it’s not ready for mass development

By release, I meant what you are running in your docker configuration. Its pretty uncommon to see it change between the “mix” environment of dev and production, but rather I think thta you’re running different releases in docker.

Phoenix may not be for you, and thats okay. You should use whatever tooling makes sense for you in your journey.