Phoenix.Token encryption

Hello everyone, this is my first post here!

I am a newbie in Elixir and Phoenix (ex Ruby/Rails :wink: ) and I am having some hard time
trying to figure out how to properly set authentication in my project (Phoenix/React).

I was looking at Phoenix.Token today (as I will probably try to roll out my own authentication library/plug)
and noticed that it is using Plug.Crypto.MessageVerifier.

As MessageVerifier docs are mentioning

MessageVerifier makes it easy to generate and verify messages
which are signed to prevent tampering.

On the other hand I took a look at Plug.Crypto.MessageEncryptor .

As MessageEncryptor docs are mentioning

MessageEncryptor is a simple way to encrypt values which get stored
somewhere you don’t trust.
The encrypted key, initialization vector, cipher text, and cipher tag
are base64url encoded and returned to you.
This can be used in situations similar to the MessageVerifier, but where
you don’t want users to be able to determine the value of the payload.

So I need to ask this!

Given the fact that our js/socket clients are not trusted, why does Phoenix.Token use MessageVerifier over MessageEncryptor?
I must also note that there is a get_secret private function defined and used inside of Phoenix.Token that I really didn’t check out :blush:

1 Like

Hello and welcome!

Because most of the time, signed token (as opposed to encrypted token) is enough. You usually only store safe-to-know values as the token payload, such as the user’s ID. This is also the case with JWT, the messages are signed to prevent tampering, but they’re not encrypted, so you can inspect the payload with JWT decoders available online.

Encrypted messages make sense if the payload of the message is sensitive, maybe if you store the user’s home address or any kind of private values in the payload (I don’t know why you would, though).