Phoenix Update Behavior from Gen.JSON

Hi,
I am quite new to Phoenix and Elixir, but I love it already.
I just want to make sure the behavior I have observed is correct.
I use Phoenix 1.4.

I want to create a REST server.

1. I created an app and installed all dependencies:
mix phx.new my-app --app my_app --no-html --no-webpack
  1. Created the DB:
cd my-app
mix ecto.create
  1. Generated a Product Schema
mix phx.gen.context Operations Product products product_name:string in_in_stock:boolean quantity:integer
  1. Then, migration:
mix ecto.migrate
  1. I generate a JSON CRUD with --no-context and --no-schema, since we already have them available:
mix phx.gen.json Operations Product products product_name:string in_in_stock:boolean quantity:integer --no-context --no-schema
  1. I add recommended resource endpoints to the router in the /api scope:
resources "/products", ProductController
  1. Then, I start the server in the dev mode with the local DB:
mix phx.server
  1. Finally, I can create the creation endpoint (by default all parameters are required):
    a) all parameters supplied - SUCCESS!
curl -H "Content-Type: application/json" -X POST -d '{"product":{"product_name":"Product1","in_in_stock":true, "quantity": 1}}' http://localhost:4000/api/products

b) missing one required parameter - FAILURE! (Correct behavior!)

curl -H "Content-Type: application/json" -X POST -d '{"product":{"product_name":"Product1","in_in_stock":true, "quantity1": 1}}' http://localhost:4000/api/products
  1. Here is when I am a little puzzled: PUT. I send a PUT request where none of the parameters in the body are correct and I get status 200OK, but the product does not change at all.
curl -H "Content-Type: application/json" -X PUT -d '{"product":{"product_name1":"Product1","in_in_stock1":true, "quantity1": 1}}' http://localhost:4000/api/products/1

Shouldn’t that return an error?