Phoenix working as a front end file server

Hello all,
I want to know how can I build a phoenix file server which will be work as a :-

• file server for my vuejs app, the code will be already production build. Something like express-node thing.
  • all phoenix have to do is server the build assets and files on a particular url hits.
  • if u can help a step deeper I am highly interested to know how can I use lazy loading here.

As a beginner I need some guidance, I assure you that I will try my level best and hopefully will be able to contribute something good to community.

To be honest, I would not use Phoenix just to serve static files. As a full featured framework, Phoenix has a lot of stuff for different things and using it for just static files is a waste of resources and adds needless complexity.

Instead I would use a web server like Nginx, or if you really want to go with Elixir, just Plug (which contains Plug.Static for serving static files: https://hexdocs.pm/plug/Plug.Static.html).

1 Like

Thanks for replaying @Nicd :slight_smile:,
True that phoenix has greater power and I am using those powers for my backend in the most efficient way I can.

What I was thinking is just that since make a file server over node will be less efficient than making with phoenix. That’s why I just raised the doubt.

If you already have a Phoenix doing other stuff, then you obviously can use it to serve your VueJS files. Just place your built files under priv/static and they will be served by Phoenix. You can check the Plug.Static configuration in your endpoint.ex, it will look something like this: https://gitlab.com/code-stats/code-stats/blob/master/lib/code_stats_web/endpoint.ex#L8-18

Actually I have planned this same.
But as having a totally different dedicated server for front end will give me better load balancing and traffic management ( my opinion), I am trying to make a different phoenix assets provider.