Phx.new vs phoenix.new

Hi, I’m new to Phoenix and I am making a new 1.3 project.

I run mix help and I see 2 commands to generate a new Phoenix project:

mix phoenix.new # Creates a new Phoenix v1.3.0 application
mix phx.new # Creates a new Phoenix v1.3.0 application

When I run phoenix.new it seems to create an older version, using phoenix-1.3.0-rc.

Is this something old and leftover? When I try to uninstall the phoenix archive it removes both, and adds them both back when I re-install it fresh.

Why is there an old command hanging around and what is it for?

Thanks

My guess it is left for now for compatibility and will be removed after the transition period

mix phoenix.new is old. It is still in your machine because it is installed locally and not distributed as part of Phoenix. Use mix archive.uninstall phoenix.new to remove it.

5 Likes

I tried that but it doesn’t appear to be listed?

~/Code » mix archive.uninstall phoenix.new
Could not find a local artifact named “phoenix.new”. We found:

• hex-0.17.1
  • phx_new
    Archives installed at: /Users/zesty/.mix/archives

Part of the confusion, I think, is that the description for both phx.new and phoenix.new are the same. My understanding is that phoenix.new creates a 1.2 version and phx.new creates a 1.3 version. Is that correct? I also have both listed, and mix archive.uninstall doesn’t find the old phoenix.new. Also, “mix help” lists phoenix.new, but “mix archive” does not have it listed.

phx.new makes a 1.3 version (per the latest phoenix docs anyway.

I remember when I tested phoenix 1.3.0 RC but I have no idea where that’s stored locally. It’s not in the archives folder

Oh, I think we still include it on phx.new for backwards compatibility. In any case, it will be gone on v1.4!

2 Likes

Just FYI this version of phoenix.new installs version 1.3.0-rc

That’s what this original thread is about :laughing:

any update on this ?

What kind of update do you expect?