Playing with NimbleParsec — Some beginner questions

Hi there! :wave:

I should preface this by saying I’m an absolute beginner to parser combinators and I’m pretty much an Elixir hobbyist so far.

In any case, I’ve very recently become interested in exploring them since watching Saša Jurić’s Parsing from first principles video and I’ve just started scratching the surface with nimble_parsec.

The introductory datetime example got me thinking about how one might go about parsing integers with additional constraints. As a standalone example, how one would go about parsing a “valid month” value; e.g: in the range 1..12 with an optional leading 0.

Strings like "1", "01" and "12" would be valid, returning 1, 1 and 12 respectively.

Conversely, strings like "0", "00", "001" and "13" are invalid.

I am not sure what an idiomatic approach is here, so I suspect my various attempts so far have been very naive. The following is my best attempt, where I accept any integer between one or two characters and then validate with post_traverse:

defmodule MonthParser do
  import NimbleParsec

def valid_month?(_rest, [n] = args, context, _line, _offset) when n >= 1 and n <= 12,
    do: {args, context}

def valid_day?(_rest, [n], _context, _line, _offset),
    do: {:error, "Invalid month: #{n}"}

month =
    integer(min: 1, max: 2)
    |> post_traverse(:valid_month?)
    |> eos()

defparsec :month, month 

end

This seems satisfactory enough:

iex(1)> MonthParser.month "0"
{:error, "Invalid month: 0", "", %{}, {1, 0}, 1}
iex(2)> MonthParser.month "00"
{:error, "Invalid month: 0", "", %{}, {1, 0}, 2}
iex(3)> MonthParser.month "01"
{:ok, [1], "", %{}, {1, 0}, 2}
iex(4)> MonthParser.month "1" 
{:ok, [1], "", %{}, {1, 0}, 1}
iex(5)> MonthParser.month "31"
{:ok, [31], "", %{}, {1, 0}, 2}
iex(6)> MonthParser.month "32"
{:error, "Invalid month: 32", "", %{}, {1, 0}, 2}