Postgrex start_link returns {:ok, pid} in case of an error

Hi,
I tried to use Postgrex for the first time and encountered the following problem: if I connect to my PostgresSQL server with correct credentials, everything works like a charm. If I use a wrong password, I‘m struggling with the error handling, because start_link than also returns {:ok, pid}. The error message about the wrong credentials is logged out later. How can I handle this case?

Cheers
Christian

1 Like

Does out connect successfully with the wrong password when you use psql on the command line?

It starts a connection pool and the pool will start (that is the pid you are getting back). If you try to query with that connection poll you will get a error tuple back.

2 Likes

Thanks for your answers. Maybe I’m doing something completely wrong here, because I’m new to elixir. From what I understand, this would be a safe code to handle a simple Postgres query:

def connect do
    Logger.info("before")
    try do
      with {:ok, con} <-  Postgrex.start_link(hostname: "localhost", username: "my_user", password: "wrong_password", database: "my_db")
      do
        with {:ok, result} <- Postgrex.query(con, "SELECT * FROM books", [])
        do
          Logger.info("Success")
        else
          {:error, q_err} -> Logger.error("Query Error: #{ q_err.message}")

end
      else
        {:error, c_err} -> Logger.error("Connection Error: #{c_err.message}")
      end
    rescue e in DBConnection.ConnectionError-> e
      Logger.error("Runtime Error")
    end
      Logger.info("end")
  end
end

But I do not end up in one of the “error” branches nor in the rescue section. This is the output I see in iex:

iex(1)> Ql.connect()

08:29:15.900 [info]  before

08:29:15.972 [error] Postgrex.Protocol (#PID<0.214.0>) failed to connect: ** (Postgrex.Error) FATAL 28P01 (invalid_password) password authentication failed for user "my_user"