Problem inserting record with Ecto

Hello, I am tearing my hair out trying to figure out why this doesn’t work. I am probably doing something dumb but I can’t figure it out. I’m very new to Elixir.

I’ve widdled my schema down to next to nothing to try and figure out what’s wrong. Here’s the migration:

defmodule TestApp.Repo.Migrations.CreateUsers do
  use Ecto.Migration

def change do
    create table(:users, primary_key: false) do
      add :id, :binary_id, primary_key: true
      add :username, :string, null: false
    end 
  end 
end

And the schema file:

defmodule TestApp.Accounts.User do
  use Ecto.Schema
  import Ecto.Changeset

@primary_key {:id, :binary_id, autogenerate: true}
  schema "users" do
    field :username, :string
  end   

def changeset(user, attrs) do
    user
    |> cast(attrs, [:username])
  end   
end

And then some code to insert a test object:

TestApp.Accounts.User.changeset(%TestApp.Accounts.User{}, %{username: "ben"})
|> TestApp.Repo.insert()

Running that produces this:

** (Protocol.UndefinedError) protocol String.Chars not implemented for %Postgrex.Query{columns: nil, name: "", param_formats: nil, param_oids: nil, param_types: nil, ref: nil, result_formats: nil, result_oids: nil, result_types: nil, statement: ["INSERT INTO ", [34, "users", 34], [], [32, 40, [[], 34, "id", 34], ") VALUES ", [], 40, [[], 36 | "1"], 41], []], types: nil}. This protocol is implemented for: Atom, BitString, Date, DateTime, Ecto.Date, Ecto.DateTime, Ecto.Time, Float, Integer, List, NaiveDateTime, Time, URI, Version, Version.Requirement
    (elixir) lib/string/chars.ex:3: String.Chars.impl_for!/1
    (elixir) lib/string/chars.ex:22: String.Chars.to_string/1
    (ecto) lib/ecto/adapters/sql.ex:613: Ecto.Adapters.SQL.log/4
    (db_connection) lib/db_connection.ex:1186: DBConnection.log/6
    (db_connection) lib/db_connection.ex:591: DBConnection.prepare_execute/4