Process design: Excel-like mutually dependent computations

Hello, I am fairly new to the Elixir ecosystem and I would like to know your opinion on what is the best OTP/process architecture for the following problem:

1. Imagine a typical excel spreadsheet. There are lots of values in cells, some of the cells contain formulas (which may contain references to other cells, possibly also containing formulas). There is A LOT of cells, think hundreds of thousands to millions. Not all of them need to be “visible” at the same time though.

2. Any value in cell can eventually change, however the frequency of changes spans several orders of magnitude. Most of the cells will update once per year randomly. Some cells will update once per day or hour, some cells are connected to some external data source and update several times per second.

3. Assume that all cell formulas are representable as pre-defined parametrised functions (we do not care about formula parsing, UI etc.). However these functions may contain tasks of various complexity, for instance:

• Combine several values from other cells in a simple math function
  • Compute an aggregation of values in a range of thousands of other cells
  • Take some values from other cells, make an external API call, process, output result
  • Dynamically decide on which other cells are needed for computation, compute a part, re-decide, recompute, output

Overall, the “value” in each cell doesn’t have to be a number, any term will do.

In general, the computation in the system is triggered by a change in value of some cell (typically ones connected to external data), which should trigger a re-computation of all cells that depend on it.

All of this seems to nicely fit into the whole process/functional/messaging paradigm, I have read something about actor model, heard something about C# orleans/grains (but don’t really understand it), and so far I have some ideas on how to design this: